Arrested on a second DWI charge (Class A misdemeanor DWI repetition)? We offer experienced DWI lawyers and former Tarrant County DWI prosecutors who can help you fight your DWI charge. Over DWI lawyers have combined to try over 100 DWI jury trials and have handled thousands of DWI plea negotiations.
CALL TODAY AT 817-334-7900
WHAT WE OFFER IN YOUR DEFENSE:
EXTENSIVE TRIAL EXPERIENCE
Our firm has extensive trial experience in criminal defense. Our criminal defense attorneys and DWI lawyers have tried over 200 combined criminal trials, including jury trials for DWI, Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon, Sexual Assault, Drug Possession, Gun and Weapons Charges, Burglary of a Habitation, and Capital Murder. In addition, we have reviewed and successfully negotiated thousands of criminal charges.
FORMER PROSECUTORS IN TARRANT, DALLAS, AND HARRIS COUNTY
As former prosecutors in Tarrant, Dallas, and Harris County, our DWI lawyers know how the State of Texas will attempt to prosecute you on your criminal charges. This knowledge will allow our firm to build the best defense in fighting your state or federal criminal charges.
SUPERIOR KNOWLEDGE IN DWI LAW
Our criminal lawyers know the inside and out of each and every aspect of a police investigation and State prosecution, including criminal laws, proper police procedures, DNA and blood forensic evidence, and knowing exactly how the State plans to introduce evidence into trial.
TEXAS PENAL CODE | MISDEMEANOR DWI CHARGES
3 MAIN TYPES OF MISDEMEANOR DWI CHARGES:
There are three primary misdemeanor DWI charges:
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), a Class B Misdemeanor
- Driving While Intoxicated with an Alcohol Concentration > 0.15, a Class A Misdemeanor
- Driving While Intoxicated with one previous conviction for DWI, a Class A Misdemeanor (Second DWI Charge)
Here is the primary Texas Penal Code sections outlining these charges:
SECTION 49.04 | TEXAS PENAL CODE | DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED
(a) A person commits an offense if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.
(b) Except as provided by Subsections (c) and (d) and Section 49.09, an offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor, with a minimum term of confinement of 72 hours.
(c) If it is shown on the trial of an offense under this section that at the time of the offense the person operating the motor vehicle had an open container of alcohol in the person’s immediate possession, the offense is a Class B misdemeanor, with a minimum term of confinement of six days.
(d) If it is shown on the trial of an offense under this section that an analysis of a specimen of the person’s blood, breath, or urine showed an alcohol concentration level of 0.15 or more at the time the analysis was performed, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor.
SECTION 49.09 | TEXAS PENAL CODE | DWI REPETITION (SECOND DWI)
(a) Except as provided by Subsection (b), an offense under Section 49.04, 49.05, 49.06, or 49.065 is a Class A misdemeanor, with a minimum term of confinement of 30 days, if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the person has previously been convicted one time of an offense relating to the operating of a motor vehicle while intoxicated, an offense of operating an aircraft while intoxicated, an offense of operating a watercraft while intoxicated, or an offense of operating or assembling an amusement ride while intoxicated.
CALL A FORT WORTH DWI ATTORNEY TODAY TO HELP BUILD A STRONG DEFENSE
If you or a loved one is facing a second DWI charge, you need an experienced and highly reviewed DWI attorney to help fight the DWI charge, help with any collateral driver’s license suspension, and help protect your future.
Fortunately, there are many ways to challenge a DWI arrest, and it’s important that your Fort Worth DWI attorney understands how your case can be challenged.
Whether it’s your first DWI or you’re a repeat offender facing felony charges, you need a DWI attorney in Fort Worth who will fight for your future. At Hoeller McLaughlin PLLC, we provide aggressive representation and will do everything we can to get your case dismissed or charges reduced.
If you would like more information about a Fort Worth DWI lawyer that gets results, call 817-334-7900 or fill out our online contact form.