Texas has tough laws regarding controlled substances for both illegal drugs and prescription medications that have been prescribed by a doctor but not filled or taken as directed.
For example, let’s say you’re a construction worker with back pain and have an unopened bottle of oxycodone in the glove box of your car. However, the medicine wasn’t prescribed by an M.D.
You may feel like you’re innocent because you’re honestly in pain and have never been in trouble with the law before. Going to jail may not seem fair.
Unfortunately, not knowing the law doesn’t get you off the hook in Texas. You could be detained for first-time offender possession of a controlled substance and be subject to quite severe consequences.
Different Controlled Substances Carry Different Charges Under Texas Law
The punishments vary, depending upon what type of controlled substance you’re charged with being in possession of.
- Weed– Possession of marijuana, a controlled substance in Texas, is a Class B misdemeanor and can result in up to 180 days in jail and fines between $2,000 and $10,000.
But be warned, if the charges include more than four ounces of marijuana or being near a school, the charge becomes a felony that could land you behind bars for two years in addition to that $10,000 fine.
- Coke or Heroin– If you’re accused of possessing another controlled substance like cocaine or heroin, it will be classified as a third-degree felony.
If you’re charged with carrying any weapon, then charges become aggravated possession of a controlled substance, and you might be looking at a second-degree felony. If convicted, you could receive up to 20 years in lockup along with the $10,000 in fines.
- Meth– Possessing methamphetamine is considered a grave offense in Texas and it doesn’t matter if you’re a first-time offender or not. If you’re convicted of having this harder drug, be prepared to spend mandatory time in a drug treatment center on top of potentially 10 years in jail and up to $10,000 in fines.
Don’t Panic—Get a Good Lawyer to Help
If you’re facing criminal charges for possession and are a first-time offender, it’s important to know what your options are. In some cases, your lawyer may be able to reduce your sentence or get the charges dropped altogether.
There are a few different ways that we can help you, depending on the circumstances surrounding your case.
For example, you may be able to get the charges dropped if there is not enough evidence against you. A lawyer could be able to negotiate with prosecutors to get them to reduce the charge or grant you deferred adjudication.
Did the cops even have a right to pull you over? Sometimes we can argue that there was no probable cause for a traffic stop that leads to an arrest.
As a last resort, if you’re facing felony charges, in certain cases, we may also get you a plea deal.
If you’re facing first-time offender possession of a controlled substance, having an attorney represent you can be immensely helpful. Contact us through the following form or call Hoeller McLaughlin PLLC at 817-334-7900.